🔗 Articles: Saturday 16.Mar.2024


Guardian: Jenny Odell on why we need to learn to do nothing: ‘It’s a reminder that you’re alive’

And Odell seems to be proposing a solution.

“I mean, I hope so,” she says. “My own experience was one of self-observation, which I think is happening to a lot of people right now – you can only do something that makes you feel so bad, for so long, without starting to ask why. The original talk came out of me wondering why I was going to the rose garden so often, and why that felt necessary – I think this cultural moment, this kind of reckoning that’s happening, is maybe related.”

Seems like the right idea, but another article-sized idea expanded to book length.


CBC: Premier David Eby mocks Pierre Poilievre’s letter asking B.C. to join carbon tax fight

Poilievre’s letter sent Friday asks Eby to join seven other premiers in opposing the April 1 tax increase, saying the 23 per cent hike amounts to an extra 18 cents on a litre of fuel and people in B.C. and Canadians can’t afford it.

“I don’t live in the Pierre Poilievre campaign office and baloney factory,” said Eby. “I live in B.C., am the premier and decisions have consequences. The fact we face is that if we followed Mr. Poilievre’s suggestion there would be less money returned to British Columbians after April 1 than there would be if the federal government administered this increase directly.”


NewsNation: US investigating Meta for role in illicit drug sales: Reports

U.S. prosecutors in Virginia are probing whether Facebook-parent Meta’s social media platforms facilitated and profited from the illegal sale of drugs, the Wall Street Journal reported on Saturday, citing documents and people familiar with the matter.

The prosecutors sent subpoenas last year and have been asking questions as part of a criminal grand jury probe, the report said, adding that they have also been requesting records related to drug content or illicit sale of drugs via Meta’s platforms.


BBC: Local elections: ’I got my first death threat before I was elected‘

After winning her seat on South Cambridgeshire District Council in 2018, the abuse got even worse.

“I had threats of violence and sexual violence towards me,” she said.

This is craziness!


Last Updated: 16.Mar.2024 23:43 EDT

Thursday’s articles

Follow along as new links are added to today’s list